Category Archive: Primer on Premiers

Primer on Premiers – Nunavut


The history of the Premiership in Nunavut is extremely brief as Nunavut was only created as a territory in 1999. In that time there has been only two leaders of the Territory. There are no political parties in the Legislative Assembly and the Premier is selected by the other members of the legislature in a form of government called Consensus. The people choose their representatives who then chose one of these representatives to lead the territory as Premier. These are Nunavut’s premiers.

Primer on Premiers – Newfoundland and Labrador

Danny Williams, 9th Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador

In 1949, the Dominion of Newfoundland became the province of Newfoundland as it joined Confederation in Canada. Since then the province has had 9 premiers and this is that history.

Primer on Premiers – Yukon

Premier Dennis Fentie

Yukon first had a leader in government in 1978. This is the brief history of the job of Premier in Yukon.